What time is it in London

Current time in london, united kingdom

London time zone: UTC + 01: 00 or BST
It's summer time in London.

Time change in London

The next time change is marked.
Type of conversionDate and time of the time changeTime change
Summertime beganSunday March 28, 2021 at 1:00 AM and Sunday March 28, 2021 at 1:00 AMThe clocks were put forward by one hour.
Daylight saving time endsSunday October 31, 2021 at 2:00 am Sunday October 31. 2021 at 2:00 AMThe clocks are put back one hour.
Daylight saving time beginsSunday March 27, 2022 at 1:00 AM and Sunday March 27, 2022 at 1:00 AMThe clocks are put forward by one hour.

Sunrise and sunset in London

London, UK

Time and time zones

The length of a solar day is determined by the time it takes for the earth to complete a full revolution around its axis, which corresponds to 24 hours. The rotation of the earth on its axis leads to a change between day and night. Another consequence of this rotation is the fact that when moving 15 ° from west to east, the local solar time increases by one hour.

In everyday life, people use official local time, which is almost always different from solar time. The entire surface of the earth is divided into time zones. All locations within the same time zone observe the same time. Time zone boundaries usually follow country or administrative boundaries. The time difference between adjacent time zones is typically an hour, although sometimes the time in adjacent time zones can differ by two or more hours. There are also cases where the adjacent time zone difference is 30 or 45 minutes.

For most countries, the entire country area is within the same time zone. Countries whose territory extends a significant distance from west to east, such as Russia, United States, Canada, Brazil, and a few others, are usually divided into a few time zones. A notable exception is China, where Beijing Time is the official time across the country.

Coordinated Universal Time or UTC is the reference point for determining the times in the various time zones. UTC corresponds to the mean solar time at the prime meridian or Greenwich meridian (0 ° longitude). The time offset from UTC ranges from UTC-12: 00 to UTC + 14: 00.

Almost all countries in Europe and North America as well as many other countries observe daylight saving time and set their clocks one hour forward in spring and one hour back in autumn. In these countries the time difference to UTC changes twice a year. Most countries do not observe daylight saving time.