What does new network mean at the same time

Use network environments on Mac

With the "Environment" function in the network settings, you can quickly switch between different sets of network settings.

The ability to switch between different sets of network settings (environments) can be useful, for example, in the following situations:

  • You use the same type of network at work and at home (such as Ethernet), but the settings you use at work will not allow your Mac to automatically connect to such a network at home.
  • Your Mac uses more than one type of network service (such as Wi-Fi and Ethernet) to connect at work and at home, but at work the Mac should try to connect using Ethernet first. At home, however, the connection attempt should first be made via WLAN. In other words: you want to use a different order of services for each environment.
  • The Mac won't connect to the network, and you want to quickly reset network settings for testing purposes without losing your current configuration.


Add or remove a network environment

  1. Choose Apple menu ()> System Preferences and click Network.
  2. The Environment pop-up menu shows the name of the currently selected set of network settings. The default environment is called "Automatic". Select the "Edit Environments" item from this menu.
  3. Click the Add (+) button below the Environment List, then type a name for the new environment, e.g. B. work, home or mobile. (To remove an environment, use the remove (-) key below the list.)
  4. Click on "Done". The name of the new environment should now be displayed in the "Environment" menu. Any changes you make to the WiFi, Ethernet or other network settings will be saved in this environment when you click on "Apply". The network settings in the previous environment remain unchanged, so you can return to them at any time in the "Environments" menu.
  5. Click "Apply" to save the settings and complete the change from the previous to the new environment. The Mac will then automatically try to determine the correct settings for each type of network. If you need to change the settings manually, be sure to click "Apply" again afterwards.


Switch between network environments

If you have more than one environment, you can switch between them using any of the following methods:

  • As described above, use the "Environment" pop-up menu in the network settings. Make sure to click "Apply" after selecting an environment.
  • Alternatively, you can select the Apple menu> "Environment" from the menu bar and then select the desired environment in the submenu.


Change the order of network services

If you use different network environments because each environment should prefer a different network service (e.g. WiFi or Ethernet) when connecting, you can change the order of the services (also called port priority) in the individual environments as follows.

  1. Choose Apple menu ()> System Preferences and click Network.
  2. Choose the environment you want to change from the Environment pop-up menu.
  3. Click the More Options icon or the gear icon under the list of services, then select "Set the order of services".
  4. Drag the services to their preferred position to change the order. The Mac tries to connect through the service that is at the top of the list. If this does not work, it will use the next service in descending order until a connection has been successfully established.
    The order of VPN (Virtual Private Network) connections cannot be changed as they always have priority over other connections.
  5. Click on "OK" and then on "Apply".


Prevent the use of a network service

The environment called "Automatic" by default enables all available network services (also called "ports" or "network interfaces"), regardless of whether they are actually used to establish a network connection. The Mac automatically searches these services for a network or Internet connection.

For example, you could use a WiFi network at home, but use an Ethernet network at work. The Mac automatically detects which of these network services to use when it connects.

If you want to make sure the Mac is using a specific network service, e.g. B. WLAN is not used, you can deactivate the corresponding service in any network environment:

  1. Choose Apple menu ()> System Preferences and click Network.
  2. Choose the environment you want to change from the Environment pop-up menu.
  3. Click the More Options icon or the gear icon under the list of services, then select "Disable Service".
  4. Click on "Apply".
Release date: