Would you ever delete your Facebook account

Internet Delete Facebook completely - here's how

display

At least since the Cambridge Analytica data scandal, it should also have become clear to the last Facebook fan that personal data on the network could be in danger at any time. But it is not just concerns about further data leaks that trigger many people to consider separating from Facebook. Annoying algorithms, constant notifications or even the social pressure associated with the platform are some good reasons for Facebook fatigue. If you don't feel like it anymore, you can permanently delete your Facebook account. We'll show you how it works - and of course how you can save the accumulated data beforehand. With the account deactivation, we also show a veritable alternative to the complete withdrawal from Facebook.

Delete Facebook: First back up your own data

Before you finally do tabula rasa when it comes to Facebook, the most important personal data from the network should be backed up. In fact, Facebook offers the option that to request the uploaded data in full. As the world's data octopus, Facebook really saves everything you have done on the network in the course of your career. The good news: you can request the complete data and download it to your computer. In addition to all the photos and videos that you have uploaded to Facebook, the network then also provides a lot of other data. For example, you can track your entire Facebook chronicle via the HTML database or view a list of your likes. Even rejected friend requests can be found in the personal Facebook archive.

How to download the data from your Facebook account:

In the old Facebook deisgn:

1. Log into Facebook. Here click on the in the upper right corner little arrow next to your profile and select the entry "Settings".
2. Switch to the "Your Facebook information".
3. Click next to the line "Download your information"on the button"Look at".
4. On this page you can now select in detail which data you want to download and the form in which it should be processed. Usually you can just leave the default settings. Here the complete Facebook data is processed as HTML files.

display

5. If you are satisfied with the selection, click on "Create file". The data is not available immediately. Instead, you will receive an email as soon as the download is finished. With our account, the email came after a few minutes, but in practice it can take longer.
6. Click the in the mail Download link at. After entering your Facebook password this leads to one ZIP archive with your data. Download the file and extract it to your hard drive.
7. In the unzipped folder you will find the file "Index.html". Click on this to see an overview of all the activities that you have participated in in your Facebook life.

The data is clearly sorted according to categories. Regardless of this, you can of course also browse the folder directly. This is structured logically so that, for example, all videos are in the subfolder of the same name.

In the new Facebook design:

1. Log in to Facebook. Then click the in the upper right corner little arrow, select the entry "Settings and privacy"on and then go on"Settings".
2. Switch to the section "Your Facebook information".
3. Click to the right of the line "Download your information" on "Look at".
4. You can now select in detail which data should be downloaded and in which form it should be processed. As a rule, you can simply keep the default settings, so that all of your Facebook data is processed as HTML files.

display

5. Once you have made your selection, click on "Create fileAs soon as the data is compiled and ready to be downloaded, you will receive an email and a Facebook notification. This took a few minutes for our account, but in practice it can take longer.
6. Click the Facebook notification or the link in the email. Then click on "DownloadAfter entering your Facebook password, you will be taken to a ZIP archive with your data. Download the file, extract it to your hard drive.
7. In the folder you will find the file "Index.html". Click on this to see an overview of all your Facebook activities.

The data is sorted by categories here. Alternatively, you can also browse the folder directly. This is logically structured so that all search queries are located in the Search_History subfolder.

Delete Facebook account

If you have decided to delete your Facebook account, we will show you here how to permanently close your Facebook profile.

For the old Facebook design

display


In principle, your Facebook account is history. But it is not that simple: If you log into your account again within the next 14 days, the network will automatically cancel the deletion of the profile. Only after you have waited this two-week grace period without logging into Facebook will the deletion of all data be instructed. This can take up to a further 90 days. Your Facebook account will then be irretrievably deleted. Further information on deleting a Facebook account can be found at this link: https://www.facebook.com/help/224562897555674.

For the new Facebook design

Note: If you log back into your account within the next 30 days, your profile will be automatically restored. Only when you have waited this time without logging into Facebook will the deletion of all your data be instructed. This can then take up to 90 days - after which your Facebook account is irrevocably deleted.

Alternative: deactivate Facebook account

display

Deleting your own Facebook account is quite a radical step. If you just want to distance yourself from Facebook for a while, the network offers an alternative: just deactivate your Facebook account. In this case, all data including friendship connections, likes, etc. will be retained. In return, you no longer appear in the Facebook search and are no longer visible to people on your friends list. To deactivate your account:

Old Facebook design:

To deactivate your account, follow our step-by-step instructions or take a look at the quick start guide.

display

Facebook will now log you out of your account and deactivate it for other users. This state is theoretically of unlimited duration. To that Activate account again, all you have to do is log into Facebook with your username and password. The network then immediately restores all data.

Quick guide: Deactivate Facebook account

  1. Go to the little one in the top right Triangle icon next to your username and then on "Settings".
  2. In the left menu click on "Your Facebook information".
  3. Go to "Deactivation and deletion".
  4. Then mark "deactivate account"and click on"Continue and deactivate your account".
  5. Give one Reason for deletion and complete the process via "Deactivate"from.

New Facebook design:

display

To deactivate your Facebook account, follow the step-by-step instructions or take a look at our quick guide.

You will now be logged out and Facebook will deactivate your account for other users - theoretically for an unlimited period of time. To your Reactivate account, log back in to Facebook with your username and password. Your data will then be restored immediately.

Quick guide: Deactivate Facebook account

  1. In the top right, click the little one Triangle icon, then on "Settings and privacy"and then on"Settings".
  2. In the left menu select "Your Facebook information".
  3. Click on "Deactivation and deletion".
  4. Now mark "deactivate account"and click on"Continue and deactivate your account".
  5. If necessary, give your password a.
  6. Finally, give one Reason for deletion and terminate the process via "Deactivate". Confirm with"Deactivate now".